Public invited as Sports Writers honor Halladay, Victorino, Manuel, Amaro, Bergey and others

To comment:

Phillies pitcher Roy Halladay, who threw a pair of no-hitters – one a perfect game – and won 20 games during the regular season, will be honored as Pro Athlete of the Year by the Philadelphia Sports Writers Association at its annual dinner, Monday, Jan. 31 at the Crowne Plaza in Cherry Hill.

The public is invited to attend and see Halladay be presented with his National League Cy Young Award.

The Flyers, who advanced to the 2010 Stanley Cup Finals before losing to Chicago, are the association’s Team of the Year.

Other individual award winners include Phillies outfielder Shane Victorino (Humanitarian), 76ers forward Elton Brand (Good Guy), former Eagles linebacker Bill Bergey (Living Legend) and San Jose Earthquakes forward Bobby Convey (Native Son).

The association also will honor the 2010 Most Courageous Athlete, whose identity is kept secret until the night of the dinner.

Tickets are $95 for the dinner, which begins with a social hour at 5:30 p.m.

More information can be obtained at